HUBZone stands for Historically Underutilized Business Zones, referring to small businesses that reside in underperforming business zones. Being a certified HUBZone business qualifies owners to contract preferences and access to federal contracting opportunities.
The program works by providing HUBZone maps business owners can use to determine their eligibility, while the government maintains a list of qualifying businesses that federal agencies can use as vendors. HUBZone certified companies can receive competitive and sole source contracting opportunities as well as subcontracting. The goal of this program is to ensure 3% of all federal prime contracts go to HUBZone certified firms.

Some of the eligibility requirements include:

  • SBA standard small business
  • Owned and controlled at least 51% by U.S. citizens, or a Community Development Corporation, an agricultural cooperative, or an Indian tribe

Its principal office must be located within a Historically Underutilized Business Zone, which includes lands considered Indian Country and military facilities closed by the Base Realignment and Closure Act. At least 35% of its employees must reside in a HUBZone
Some of the information required to apply for HUBZone Certification includes:

  • Ownership information
  • Recent business financials
  • Tax returns
  • Bonding information
  • Employee information
  • General business information

The top ten categories for HUBZone contracts are:

  • Commercial and Institutional Building Construction
  • Heavy Engineering and Civil Engineering Construction
  • Computer Related Services
  • Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction
  • Facilities Support Services
  • Engineering Services
  • Security Guards and Patrol Services
  • Research and Development
  • Consulting Services
  • Mens and Boys Apparel

Contact us today to see how we can help you with your HUBZone Certification!